Skip to content

The Last Post…

June 29, 2010

A year has passed since Joan came to be. In fact, while the news was recounting Michael Jackson’s death I was recounting the day before my life changed. “This time a year ago, I was taking a train home from my internship in Boston.” “This time a year ago, I was going over to Kerry’s to meet up with friends” “This time a year ago, we left for the bar”… And so on. Thankfully around the time I broke my foot last year, this year I was safe in my bed sleeping because I avoided Fiesta like the plague. Joan was also well aware that it was her birthday as she wreaked havoc all day….that was fun (and strange since she hadn’t hurt that much in a long while)

A year ago today, I was waiting to find out when I could get surgery, and doped up on painkillers. More than any other time during this recovery process, I appreciate the present (and am more cautious than ever). As excited as I am to go to Plymouth for July 3rd, I fully understand that within the next few days something could happen to make it so I couldn’t go anymore, even though I REALLY HOPE NOTHING HAPPENS. So I appreciate that I can walk and drive, while simultaneously always being on the look out for large drunk men and avoiding them.

Doctors said it would be a six month to year recovery time. The bones have healed, but in the process of regaining strength I have ran into multiple muscle and joint issues from overcompensating. So although I’m still not 100%, I think I may be as close as I’ve ever going to get. I still go to physical therapy but I’m considering ending that too since their guess is as good as mine on how to solve whatever continues to irritate me. Tip if you have this injury: Seek out a physical therapist as soon as possible! I had a three week period between my second surgery and getting into the pt office. Although doctors said I could start walking on my own (tip #2, listen to your instincts because that was b.s.) I have a feeling some of my current problems came from trying to walk/regain strength on my own.

Since my last update, besides going to physical therapy, life kept happening and I graduated from college and spoke at my graduation. I left Joan out of the speech, even though I highly considered making the whole speech about her. Sorry, Joan, no one likes you. I was also invited to be a Peace Corps Volunteer in the Philippines! Thankfully I have recovered enough to go  in August to be a Teacher of English Language Fluency in the Philippines, and I couldn’t be more excited.  Having a dream to look forward to definitely helped during my recovery process. Getting better in time for my suggested departure date became a hard goal that I was determined to reach.

It’s been a longggg road, but I am so happy I started this blog. Thanks to everyone who read it and left encouraging comments. I had no idea that my writing would reach so many people. Several people with the same injury, or other tragic injuries often commented here saying that my blog helped them, or at least amused them. Getting those e-mails from strangers was inspiring and moving. Even though I haven’t updated since January, I still get e-mails today and it reminds me that somehow I was able to make a little bit of good out of a crappy situation.

So let’s recap what I’ve learned here, shall we?

  • Name your injuries… it automatically makes talking about it more entertaining
  • Invest in Crutch Buddies if you ever need crutches, seriously they’re so awesome.
  • Avoid large drunk men, always.
  • Laying in bed is not as fun when you have no choice but to stay there
  • DO YOUR EXERCISES
  • Don’t give up or get too discouraged, it could always be worse
  • Live in the moment, count your blessings, and be kind

PEACE OUT, JOAN!

Though I’ll be discontinuing this blog, you can follow my adventures on my other blog 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. lucy permalink
    July 23, 2010 3:55 pm

    Thank you so much for writing this blog. I am one week out of having the surgery and am so tired of being layed up. I have four young children that need me and I am so useless. i was injured four months ago and we tried the nonsurgical route but my injury would not heal. So I am back in a cast with three screws in my foot and the pain is horrible, pain medicine is yuk, and its like the lord of the flies book around my house with my children running wild. I was so glad to find joan and laugh. My question is about excercise – have you been excercising and if so what are you capable of doing?

Leave a comment